Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
[HOWTO] Persistent SSH Home Directories
SSH with persistent user home directory guide

Disclaimer
This is an unofficial guide to SSH and setting up persistent user accounts on a Thecus NAS. It was made using a Thecus N4100PRO firmware version 5.03.02.8 so it may be quite different in other hardware and/or firmware versions. I'll try to explain each step so alternate decisions can be taken based on individual realities and/or necessities. If any ascpect of this guide is incorrect or needs further clarification please feel free to suggest a revision or point out and explain the mistakes. I'm not in any way responsible to any harm that can come to your hardware and/or data that can come from following this guide. I'm not a linux expert, only a hobbyist and this is my first guide.  Angel

Introduction
I'll consider a mostly default configuration of the NAS as a starting point. I'll not get into setting up the RAID itself, I'll only assume your RAID is correctly set and the data directory is mounted on /raid/data (which is actually symlinked to the real mount point /raid0/data). Since you can't verify that yet, we need to install the SSH module to be able to log into the NAS command line.

Download, install and activate the FajoSSHD module. At the time of writing this guide the latest version of the module was 1.09.02 containing openssh v7.1p1 and openssl 1.0.1p and could be found at FaJoSSHD (updated: V1.10.00 by outkastm)

Optional: Make the following changes to the FaJoSSHD configuration:

## (Multiple Port options are permitted.)
#Port 22
Port 10022

to

## (Multiple Port options are permitted.)
Port 22
#Port 10022

To access the SSH server at the default port configuration. This way you'll be able to access the NAS command line by entering the command:

ssh root@<NAS IP Address>
<enter your admin password>

If you want to leave this configuration untouched you'll access the NAS command line by entering the command: