I Love Thecus

Full Version: USB UPS Support?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi,

As we've been getting a few power cuts recently I decided to buy a UPS to protect my N0503 and data. I bought a PowerWalker Line Interactive VI1000 because it is listed as having been tested with the NAS but when I connect it and Enable UPS monitoring (so that the N0503 can shut down when power is low) I just get an error "No this device!". I have also tried setting it to a APC USB UPS as suggested on another thread but no luck. I've also installed the APCUPSD module but this doesn't pick anything up. I also see multiple entries in the log like

Quote:2014/11/14 23:23:51Thecus : The system Thecus found UPS is unavailable.
2014/11/14 23:23:46 Thecus : The system Thecus found communications lost to the UPS. The USB UPS connection failed could
caused by system reboot, please unplug/plug and re-enable USB UPS again to correct it.

Unpluggin/plugging in the USB as suggested does not work.

The USB port itself does work as it used to host a printer so I'm not sure why this isn't working. If it isn't supported then why would the Thecus web site claim that it is?

Does anyone have any ideas?

TIA
Z
Hi,

As we've been getting a few power cuts recently I decided to buy a UPS to protect my N0503 and data. I bought a PowerWalker Line Interactive VI1000 because it is listed as having been tested with the NAS but when I connect it and Enable UPS monitoring (so that the N0503 can shut down when power is low) I just get an error "No this device!". I have also tried setting it to a APC USB UPS as suggested on another thread but no luck. I've also installed the APCUPSD module but this doesn't pick anything up. I also see multiple entries in the log like

Quote:2014/11/14 23:23:51Thecus : The system Thecus found UPS is unavailable.
2014/11/14 23:23:46 Thecus : The system Thecus found communications lost to the UPS. The USB UPS connection failed could
caused by system reboot, please unplug/plug and re-enable USB UPS again to correct it.

Unpluggin/plugging in the USB as suggested does not work.

The USB port itself does work as it used to host a printer so I'm not sure why this isn't working. If it isn't supported then why would the Thecus web site claim that it is?

Does anyone have any ideas?

TIA
Z
Did you install the newest FW?
<!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://www.thecus.com/Downloads/FW/N5500_N7700_N8800/XXXseries_1U4600_N0503_N4200series_N5500_N7700series_N8800series_FW_5.03.02.rom">http://www.thecus.com/Downloads/FW/N550 ... .03.02.rom</a><!-- m -->

Otherwise I recommend to create a ticket and add the conf.bin file to the ticket (<!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://thecus.com/sp_tech.php">http://thecus.com/sp_tech.php</a><!-- m -->).
Did you install the newest FW?
<!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://www.thecus.com/Downloads/FW/N5500_N7700_N8800/XXXseries_1U4600_N0503_N4200series_N5500_N7700series_N8800series_FW_5.03.02.rom">http://www.thecus.com/Downloads/FW/N550 ... .03.02.rom</a><!-- m -->

Otherwise I recommend to create a ticket and add the conf.bin file to the ticket (<!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://thecus.com/sp_tech.php">http://thecus.com/sp_tech.php</a><!-- m -->).
I'm using a UPS with my N0503 as well, an APC UPS. I'm using it with a third-party module though.
I'm using a UPS with my N0503 as well, an APC UPS. I'm using it with a third-party module though.