afp not working in lion

Featuring Dual DOM Technology. Three units in one - NAS, DAS, iSCSI.

Moderator: John Tsai

afp not working in lion

Postby wintergreen » Wed Jul 06, 2011 2:56 pm

in mac os 10.7, trying to connect via afp gives this error:

The version of the server you are trying to connect to is not supported. Please contact your system administrator to resolve the problem.
Thecus N5500 | FW: 5.03.01 | 5 x WDC WD20EARS-55M 51.0 | EXT4 | RAID6 + Spare
wintergreen
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:25 pm

Re: afp not working in lion

Postby fajo » Wed Jul 06, 2011 10:44 pm

wintergreen wrote:in mac os 10.7, trying to connect via afp gives this error:

The version of the server you are trying to connect to is not supported. Please contact your system administrator to resolve the problem.


This seems to be a known issue - I would suggest to open a ticket with Apple and ask for downward compatibility ;o)

/Falk
fajo
Third-Party Developer
 
Posts: 1156
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 3:22 pm
Location: Germany

Re: afp not working in lion

Postby wintergreen » Wed Jul 06, 2011 10:53 pm

According to the dev forums, DHCAST128 is no longer supported. netatalk 2.2-beta3 supposedly will connect fine.

For anyone else with this problem, DHCAST128 can be re-enabled manually in lion as follows:

To turn on "DHCAST128" support please do the following:

1) Launch /Applications/Utilities/Terminal and do:
sudo chmod o+w /Library/Preferences
defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.AppleShareClient afp_host_prefs_version -int 1
Now restart your computer.
2) From Finder, select an AFP server, or use "Connect To...". This will cause the AFP Client to create the full preferences file
3) Launch Terminal again and do:
sudo defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.AppleShareClient afp_disabled_uams -array "Cleartxt Passwrd" "MS2.0" "2-Way Randnum exchange"
sudo chmod o-w /Library/Preferences
Now restart your computer.

Note: To add a "DHCAST128" to the disable list, use
sudo defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.AppleShareClient afp_disabled_uams -array-add "DHCAST128"


I will try this out myself later.
Thecus N5500 | FW: 5.03.01 | 5 x WDC WD20EARS-55M 51.0 | EXT4 | RAID6 + Spare
wintergreen
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:25 pm

Re: afp not working in lion

Postby jezzy » Fri Jul 22, 2011 9:34 am

This actually worked for me ! err.. 1min of backing up crashed it =( :evil:
jezzy
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Jan 15, 2011 7:52 am

Re: afp not working in lion

Postby scorneil » Sat Jul 30, 2011 8:45 am

thank you this was very helpful
scorneil
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 1:53 am

Re: afp not working in lion

Postby Buckeyes1995 » Sun Jul 31, 2011 9:16 am

The workaround corrected the issue with connecting to an AFP server.. but Time Machine will not show my mounted Time Machine folder to do the backups. Anyone know how to fix this?

Thanks
Buckeyes1995
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 9:14 am

Re: afp not working in lion

Postby wintergreen » Wed Sep 07, 2011 10:44 pm

New firmware 5.01.05 release notes:

3) Added Mac OSX Lion support


Yes! Thank you Thecus :D
Thecus N5500 | FW: 5.03.01 | 5 x WDC WD20EARS-55M 51.0 | EXT4 | RAID6 + Spare
wintergreen
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 10:25 pm


Return to N5500

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest