Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Raid 1 Degraded: Disk replacement process?
#1
I have read the manual on how to do this, however there is a key detail left out... do I hot swap the drive? or do I shut down the unit, change the drive, then turn it back on?

Thanks!
Reply
#2
I have read the manual on how to do this, however there is a key detail left out... do I hot swap the drive? or do I shut down the unit, change the drive, then turn it back on?

Thanks!
Reply
#3
Hi Ceraq,

You can hot swap the HDD.

Before you swap your HDD, please check all HDD in your NAS.
If there still other HDD show [Reallocated Sectors Count] or [Current Pending Sector Count] error, please backup your data before your rebuild your RAID.
Cause if another HDD error and leave raid when you rebuilding raid, it means 2 HDD left RAID1, and might make RAID damage.

About the HDD Smart info:
<!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://esupport.thecus.com/support/index.php?_m=knowledgebase&_a=viewarticle&kbarticleid=50">http://esupport.thecus.com/support/inde ... ticleid=50</a><!-- m -->

Please refer to [How to rebuild a degraded RAID?]
<!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://esupport.thecus.com/support/index.php?_m=knowledgebase&_a=viewarticle&kbarticleid=28">http://esupport.thecus.com/support/inde ... ticleid=28</a><!-- m -->
Reply
#4
Hi Ceraq,

You can hot swap the HDD.

Before you swap your HDD, please check all HDD in your NAS.
If there still other HDD show [Reallocated Sectors Count] or [Current Pending Sector Count] error, please backup your data before your rebuild your RAID.
Cause if another HDD error and leave raid when you rebuilding raid, it means 2 HDD left RAID1, and might make RAID damage.

About the HDD Smart info:
<!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://esupport.thecus.com/support/index.php?_m=knowledgebase&_a=viewarticle&kbarticleid=50">http://esupport.thecus.com/support/inde ... ticleid=50</a><!-- m -->

Please refer to [How to rebuild a degraded RAID?]
<!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://esupport.thecus.com/support/index.php?_m=knowledgebase&_a=viewarticle&kbarticleid=28">http://esupport.thecus.com/support/inde ... ticleid=28</a><!-- m -->
Reply
#5
Thanks Bertha. My new disks should arrive today or tomorrow and I'll re-build it then. I'll have to see if I have enough free space around to back it up... Thanks again.
Reply
#6
Hi Bertha,

Bad bad news... When I went to look at the system it no longer recognizes that there is a RAID 1 setup! Here are the 3 logs in no particular order:

Code:
315: 2013/03/13 17:03:10 RHOD-N4100PRO : Hard Disk 3 on RHOD-N4100PRO has an I/O error.
681: 2013/03/13 17:09:22 RHOD-N4100PRO : NTP server connected fail.
2013/03/13 17:02:53 RHOD-N4100PRO : [Disk sdc] UUID[raid1;7279dc67:1e9f843c:1fb8ea51:a64a7d6b;Fri Dec 12 13:03:08 2008]
2013/03/13 17:02:53 RHOD-N4100PRO : [Disk sda] UUID[raid1;7279dc67:1e9f843c:1fb8ea51:a64a7d6b;Fri Dec 12 13:03:08 2008]
2013/03/13 17:03:07 RHOD-N4100PRO : RHOD-N4100PRO boot
2013/03/13 18:07:59 RHOD-N4100PRO : User admin logged in from 192.168.1.204
2013/03/13 17:03:02 RHOD-N4100PRO : Assemble RAID warning, try to force assemble RAID

It looks to me like the raid is recognized, btu there is certainly a disk failure. My NAS is set to turn off at 2 am every night and then re-start at 5 pm. I suppose the logs get wiped with that Sad
Reply
#7
Hi Bertha,

Bad bad news... When I went to look at the system it no longer recognizes that there is a RAID 1 setup! Here are the 3 logs in no particular order:

Code:
315: 2013/03/13 17:03:10 RHOD-N4100PRO : Hard Disk 3 on RHOD-N4100PRO has an I/O error.
681: 2013/03/13 17:09:22 RHOD-N4100PRO : NTP server connected fail.
2013/03/13 17:02:53 RHOD-N4100PRO : [Disk sdc] UUID[raid1;7279dc67:1e9f843c:1fb8ea51:a64a7d6b;Fri Dec 12 13:03:08 2008]
2013/03/13 17:02:53 RHOD-N4100PRO : [Disk sda] UUID[raid1;7279dc67:1e9f843c:1fb8ea51:a64a7d6b;Fri Dec 12 13:03:08 2008]
2013/03/13 17:03:07 RHOD-N4100PRO : RHOD-N4100PRO boot
2013/03/13 18:07:59 RHOD-N4100PRO : User admin logged in from 192.168.1.204
2013/03/13 17:03:02 RHOD-N4100PRO : Assemble RAID warning, try to force assemble RAID

It looks to me like the raid is recognized, btu there is certainly a disk failure. My NAS is set to turn off at 2 am every night and then re-start at 5 pm. I suppose the logs get wiped with that Sad
Reply
#8
Ceraq Wrote:Hi Bertha,

Bad bad news... When I went to look at the system it no longer recognizes that there is a RAID 1 setup! Here are the 3 logs in no particular order:

It looks to me like the raid is recognized, btu there is certainly a disk failure. My NAS is set to turn off at 2 am every night and then re-start at 5 pm. I suppose the logs get wiped with that Sad

Hi Ceraq,

For the RAID issue, please submit the "conf.bin" to Thecus support team at: <!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://esupport.thecus.com/support/index.php">http://esupport.thecus.com/support/index.php</a><!-- m -->
"conf.bin" can be downloaded from system UI: [System Management] --> [Config Mgmt] and then press [Download] button.
Reply
#9
Thank you for posting this information!)
Reply
#10
Thank you for posting this information!)
Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Red error LED, RAID 6 degraded, but no disk error shown tomingo 1 787 05-09-2017, 11:27 AM
Last Post: Thecus - Yvon
  N4100PRO Degraded RAID will not rebuild when adding SPARE omarh 1 1,531 01-19-2014, 12:52 AM
Last Post: omarh
  N4100pro Raid degraded dirkr 13 28,138 06-21-2013, 03:46 AM
Last Post: dirkr
  Degraded Discs to Lost RAID 1? Ceraq 20 9,228 04-11-2013, 05:45 AM
Last Post: Saltshaker
  raid 5 appears to be looping with "degraded mode" and "rebui ctiongson 1 1,636 08-31-2011, 06:42 PM
Last Post: Thecus - Kevin
  RAID Expansion Process?? Daz_akers 3 1,876 10-21-2010, 04:35 AM
Last Post: Daz_akers
  N4100PRO Degraded RAID will not rebuild when adding SPARE 0 973 Less than 1 minute ago
Last Post:

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)